Everyday Body Dysmorphia

An interesting question popped up on my Instagram the other day and I decided that I wanted to address it. I don’t think it’s anything to feel guilty or ashamed of, but it’s also an issue that carries a lot of stigma.

Do you not like the way you look..?

I get it… my photos are rarely unedited, and when I edit, having them look natural isn’t exactly a priority. And I like them that way. A lot of it is simply ‘for fun’. I probably wouldn’t want to look exactly that way all the time, but if there was a happy medium, I’d go for it.

Lately we’ve been preaching so much body positivity, acceptance and love yourself just the way you are, and there’s nothing wrong with that… I think it’s wonderful. But we also have to accept that not everyone will love the way they look, and that’s okay too. Society spends so much time telling us one thing and showing us another it’s hard not to be confused.

The truth is, if I had all the time and the money in the world, I would absolutely look different. I’d have botox and fillers at a minimum, I’d spend a lot more time at the gym and I would buy supplements and raw green juices every day. I would almost certainly have had at least one major procedure.

And there is NOTHING wrong with that.

The only thing that is wrong is feeling bad about the choices you are making about your body image. If you don’t like the way you look but you don’t do anything about it to make yourself feel better, then you are directly harming your wellbeing. I’m not telling you to go out and have surgery or diet. For some people, it can be enough to edit their photos so that the image they see brings them joy.

Do you have body issues? How do you deal with them? I’d love to know

Kisses,
Kriss!

PS
Say hi on Instagram and see my unusual construction of beauty @kisses.kriss

Leave a Reply

